Blog / Indie Business

What’s going on

All is wellHi you lovelies!

It’s been a while and a lot has happened since my last post here. One major thing: I got married! Expect a post about our wedding in the (hopefully near) future.

Right now I’m preparing for an upcoming pop up market in my home town, where I’ll be showing and maybe selling some of my things. It’s a first step for me into getting real about indie business. It may be a small step in a way, but to me it feels like a big deal. I’m trying to be real about it and keep my expectations kind of low. My major goal is to have fun, go with it the way it comes and again, have fun.

It’s been very silent here at the blog and for a great part that’s due to the organization of the wedding. But I’m also struggling with where I want to go with this blog and website. I’m not completely sure where I want to go with my indie business either. I have sort of been waiting for an epiphany on what to do and how to do it. But my conclusion must be: you won’t see the road unless you start. And even then, I can decide where to go. It doesn’t have to be completely clear and perfectly fitting. I should just do what I like and go with what I feel that is good or nice. Maybe I’ll skip some things down the line and add some other stuff. Eventually it will hopefully evolve into something that is me. That actually exactly what happened with our wedding. I had so many ideas and at some points we got totally lost in them, but in the end it turned out so perfect for the both of us.

Long story short: right now I’m keeping the blog the way it is, or has been for a long time. Which means I’m back to writing in English. I’ve always wanted to focus internationally and not just on the Netherlands. A lot of my readers are from outside the Netherlands and I think most Dutch people are able to read English very well. So that’s that for now.
I will post when I want to and when I’ve got something to tell. Ideally I would like to at least post once a week, but I’m trying to be relaxed about it, not feel pressured to write.
I will stick with WordPress for now. I’ve been looking into Typepad and Blogger, but feel I’m not in the right place just now to make a decision about that. Eventually I want to have total control on my blogs design and not be limited by templates. Which means I have to look into favorite platform, webdesign, CSS, HTML and bla bla…
Also I’d like to incorporate a shop into my website, but I’ve got no clue on how to do that yet. So more homework. I do hope to open my Etsy store soon-ish though.

So, that’s what going on at Jeau&. A lot of things to think about and a lot of stuff to do. It feels kind of messy to me, but for the first time I feel like I’m actually going somewhere.

Take it easy, move slowly, it’ll all turn out fine.

X Jeau

One thought on “What’s going on

  1. I tooooootally agree that you can’t see the road until you start! Mr. Anderson and I are dealing with something similar as far as your individual careers / place-we-want-to-live go….it’s hard to take those few first steps forward when you don’t know where you want to or should go.

    Do you know about skillshare.com? They have lots of mini courses on things like webdesign, indie business, etc. that might interest you and inspire you for where to go next.

Leave a Reply

